Switched by Amanda Hocking Review

When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right.  She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her.  Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit.  But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth:  Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.   

Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening.  And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become…


This book….this book was really good <3 this is the second time I’ve read this book and I have to say that I fell in love with it even more the second time around! Wendy is an interesting character. Obviously she isn’t like a typical girl, but she has moments where she can act her age. Sometimes I found myself getting irritated with her thought because she would just act immature and not listen to what was going on around her or what people were trying to tell her to do.

Wendy’s real mother, the queen, may have seemed pretty mean or harsh, but I actually found her rather likable. I feel like she put Wendy in check and this was good because if Wendy was going to be queen she needed to learn to act appropriately. The queen was a strong character and I actually admired her character because she was strong and independent. You could tell though that despite the way she treated Wendy, that she did indeed love her.

Now onto Finn. What can I say about Finn….I guess I can say that I didn’t really care for his character that much. To me he seemed kind of annoying and way too overbearing. Maybe that’s just me, I don’t know, but yeah. Finn had moments where I did like him though <3 I liked how he put his job before things and how he would do anything to protect the queen and Wendy.

Overall, this book was really good (obviously if I re-read it lol) and I’d probably read a third time :) I give this book 4 coffee creamers out of 5 because the plot was good and the characters were just okay; Wendy and Finn bothered me at times, but they didn’t make me hate the book. I recommend this book to anyone interested in reading something a little different :)

Leave a Reply

