The Mediator: Shadowland by Meg Cabot Review

themediator“Suze is a mediator — a liaison between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won’t leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn’t seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetery, and surfing instead of spectral visitations.

But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it’s not that easy. There’s a ghost with revenge on her mind … and Suze happens to be in the way.”

So I put aside Paper Towns by John Green and began reading Shadowland, the first book in The Mediator series by Meg Cabot. By the way, sorry I haven’t posted in so long! I started school and things got chaotic and didn’t have time to read, but I finally was able to re-read this book. This book is…different. Susannah Simon is an average sixteen year old girl; well as average a ghost whisperer can be. This book reminds me a lot of the show The Ghost Whisperer except the main character is a teenager. This book is really good actually. Suze can see, hear, touch, and speak to spirits. That’s kind of crazy, right? Anyway, Suze moves to Carmel, California all the way from New York City. Upon arriving in her new home, she encounters a spirit in her bedroom. Well, she encounters the very hot spirit of a dead cowboy; Jesse. Let me just say that Jesse is perfect! He is so sweet and caring towards Susannah and it’s just amazing. However, Suze doesn’t care for Jesse very much. The two of them get on each others nerves. Suze is a stubborn girl and doesn’t listen to anyone. Since I don’t want to spoil the book, I’ll just tell you that Suze does some pretty stupid things without thinking about them. At some points in the book, Suze annoyed me because she didn’t listen to anyone and just did whatever she wanted to. She didn’t think of the consequences or repercussions her actions may have. One thing I loved about Suze though is that she didn’t crap from anyone. She stood up for herself and what she believed in and I admire that. Overall, I give this book 4 coffee creamers. I give it four coffee creamers because I just felt the book didn’t have quite a very complex storyline and I felt the main character was kind of annoying. Regardless, this is still one of my favorite books and I will be reading the second one soon.

On another note, I recently finished reading the book Sold by Patricia McCormick for school and I will be posting my review of that either tomorrow (Friday) or Saturday, so be looking out for that because that book was something and I have a lot to say about it! Anywho, hope you enjoyed this review!

2 thoughts on “The Mediator: Shadowland by Meg Cabot Review

  1. Ah, the Mediator series! It’s one of my favorite. Jesse is, as you mentioned, perfect. And Suze really starts to grow on you as the series progresses–plus, the plot gets more convoluted, too. You’ll have to post more reviews on how you like the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

